Skip to main content

Hall of Fame

The purpose of the Portal High School Hall of Fame is to:

1) recognize and honor past high school graduates of Portal High School and Willow Hill

School who have distinguished themselves in academics, athletics, and/or

extracurricular activities and have continued, as adults, to be positive role models for

the youth of today. These individuals will be inducted into the Portal High Hall of


2) recognize and honor teachers, coaches and others who have directly influenced

students by impacting their educational and/or athletic development. These individuals

will be inducted as honorary members into the Portal High Hall of Fame.


Nominations to the Hall of Fame will be limited to the following:

2020- Class of 2000 and prior years

After 2020, nominations will include all alumni of at least 10 years.


Hall of Fame Committee

Harvey Williams, President

Loice Chavers, Vice President

Jennifer Yates, Secretary

Julie Blackmar

Luree Bowen

Jeff Brannen

Justin Chester

Tronda Grooms

Tendai Haggins

Jeff Spence




2020 Hall of Fame Nomination Form

2020 Hall of Fame Honorary Nomination Form

Hall of Fame Bylaws


Deadline for Nominations December 6, 2019

Notification to 2020 Inductees December 18, 2019

Induction Ceremony February 1, 2020



Hall of Fame Inductees


Jackie W. Anderson Class of 1955
Ronnie Anderson Class of 1960
Franklin Coleman Honorary
Leila Daughtry Denmark Honorary
Tendai Haggins Class of 1987
Alfonzo Hall Class of 1972
Gwendolyn Lane Honorary
Jennifer Motes Yates Class of 1999
Randy Raymond, Sr. Class of 1979
Toby Roberts Class of 1962
Roy and Deborah Thompson Honorary



Inductees 2019
John Donald Akins Class of 1957
Viola Stewart Brack Class of 1948
Charles Huff Class of 1981
James Ralph Miller Class of 1955
Edward Motes Class of 1972
Larry Motes Class of 1966
Harvey Williams, Sr. Class of 1975



2018 Hall of Fame Inductees